The Gourmet Girls

RedClogs

So it seems I’ve been slacking off on the blog lately.  I assure you that it’s not you…it’s me.  So much going on.  Yes, I’ve still been cooking.  I’ve been experimenting with recipes and ingredients and my mind has been filled with thoughts and ideas.  So many, in fact, that I’ve found it difficult to blog.  I meant to tell you about the magnificent night I had in early August.  Nine of my favorite people from many different parts of my life got together for an incredible night of food and laughter.  We had the most amazing dinner at Bonnell’s Fine Texas Cuisine and then stormed Downtown Fort Worth for the late-night showing of Julie & Julia.  It was a night that I’ll remember for a long time.  I could also tell you how that movie inspired me to poach an egg – something I had never done in all my years of cooking both professionally and as a recreation.  It didn’t turn out badly.  It looked a bit like a wadded up tissue.  Were it not for my recent hard-drive crash, I’d post a picture.  It would make you smile.  I could also tell you how my night of Julie & Julia inspired me to make Julia’s Boeuf Bourguignon.  After spending hours chopping, sauteing, roasting, browning and stewing… I had recreated the masterpiece.  It truly was a work of art and I was thrilled to share it with friends.  Again, save for the hard drive crash, there would be pictures.

I could go into great depth about these recent culinary adventures.  Instead, however, I’m going to tell you about the exciting news that’s been occupying most of my time.  When I left my previous job as a cooking instructor, I had dreams of being able to continue doing it somehow, someway.  I love teaching.  I love working with people who have somehow decided that they cannot cook or that cooking is difficult.  I love exposing others to new flavors, new techniques, and the biggest reward comes from introducing someone to the art and creativity and joy that can come from time spent in the kitchen.  I love watching others bond over great food and the process of creating it.  I love to inspire.  Cooking is not a hobby to me.  It’s not a job.  It’s a lifestyle and a passion.  It’s art.

For years, I’ve had an idea pulling at my thoughts.  At times, it’s been all I could think about.  At other times, it’s been forced to the background by other issues in life, quietly waiting for a chance to emerge.  Happily, the idea now seems to have gained some momentum, picked up some steam and is well on it’s way to being a reality.  This brings me more joy than you can possibly imagine.  This all to say that in the near future, you’ll be hearing more out of The Gourmet Girls.  I’ve teamed up with two very dear and brilliantly creative friends in the Austin area to make my dream of once again teaching people to cook and to love to cook very real.   There will be cooking classes.  There will be kids camps.  There will be serving and giving.  There will be fun and festivities.  There will be more blogging about food and life and the joy that is found through both.  Stay tuned… things are just about to get good.

1 Comment

Filed under Stories/Life

One response to “The Gourmet Girls

  1. greg

    I believe the words are “WOO” and “HOO”!

Leave a Reply

