Holy Hell It’s Hot

It’s going to be 97 degrees today.  That’s just crazy.  I’ve really tried hard to not complain about the heat.  Since I started losing weight late last year, the cold has been my enemy.  I feel cold to the bone.  It hurts.  And I know it’s coming.  I feel conflicted because my very favorite time of year is just around the corner.  Oct. 1-December 26 always marks my “high” point.  And yet, Dec. 27-March 15 represents the low.  So I try not to rush summer through.  I try to be patient.  But oh how I long for that first cool snap.  That chilly jacket-worthy morning.  This year, it seems to be taking it’s time arriving.  But it will come and then so will the cold and I’m sure I’ll complain.  So for now, I’ll not gripe.  I’ll just acknowledge.  97 degrees.

Today I ran 3 miles for the first time since May.  It felt good to know I could still do it – that my body hadn’t completely fallen into tree-slothyness over the summer break.  The mornings are a bit cooler now than they were in the heat of the summer.  That helps a bit.  I’m planning to do a 5K in early October.  We’ll see how it goes.  I’m hoping for slightly cooler weather.

On a side note, I’m sitting here watching the end of Dirty Dancing.  Truly a terrible movie in so many respects but this last dance sequence is still completely hot.  I want to learn to ballroom dance.  Anyone want to be the Patrick Swayze to my Baby?  Just don’t try to put me in a corner.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

