Today

Today I began training for a half-marathon.  This is not some big TA-DA announcement.  Many, many people do half-marathons.  Many others think a half is for wimps.  But for me, it’s caused a moment of reflection.  If anyone had told me even a year ago that I’d do this, I would have not believed it.  I didn’t have that kind of faith in myself and in many ways still don’t

I’ve also started thinking about the road that many people take to better health.  There is no easy road, there is no short cut, there is nothing quick.  It’s hard work.  It takes patience (which I often admit I don’t have nearly enough of).  Sometimes you don’t make progress.  Sometimes you do.  But after an extended time on the road, if your good days have outnumbered your bad, then you’re better off.  There’s no hurry, there’s time.  Just take it one day at a time.  Do your best, eat well and move.  It’s not complicated but it is hard.

I’ve still a long road left to travel with many races to be run.  Sometimes I feel like I’ve made barely any progress at all.  And yet, in the last 3 or 4 years, I’ve come so far and learned a lot along the way.  I hope that this time next year, I’ll be able to say the same thing.  I hope that I’ll be looking back on some big accomplishments and still working toward others.  I hope I’m maybe just a little further down the road.  But for now, I’m just enjoying the view from here…..

2 Comments

Filed under Stories/Life

2 responses to “Today

  1. Run on, Sister. One day at a time. One decision at a time. On plan to follow. You CAN do it.

  2. And yes, we’re doing this.

Leave a Reply

