I care…..

I care about childhood obesity rates. I care about our lack of nutrition education in low-income areas. I care that kids think pizza rolls are a meal. I care that busy people, poor people and uneducated people tend to not cook. I care that farmers are struggling. I care that so much of our food is processed to the point of non-recognition. I care that our kids are being fed crap in school lunches. I care that the biggest reason for this is economics. I care that I don’t know as much about true nutrition as I’d like. I want to change things. I want to help. I want to teach latchkey kids how to cook. I want to teach impoverished families that there is a better answer than the McDonald’s drive-thru. I want to support local farmers. I’m more than someone who likes to cook. I care. I care so much about the state of our country from a food standpoint. I care about our children. I care about our neighborhoods. To some of you, this might come as a surprise. Some of you who know me well may not even realize how deep my passions for these things run.

So when the possibility of a job, a mission, an opportunity that might possibly allow me to DO something about these things comes along, when there’s a strong knock on the door. How could I not stop and listen? This is me. I’m not a crazy health-nut, I’m not a bandwagoner, I’m a foodie. A professional foodie who has a lot to give – and a lot to learn. It’s time. It’s time to move forward – to make a difference – to know that I’m doing what I can to change a life. It’s time to be fearless. Or maybe, just to pretend I’m fearless. What’s the difference? It’s time to do something.  I’m ready.  I feel like a race horse being held in the gate.  I’m waiting for the gun to sound.  I want the rest of my life to start right now.  Let’s go.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

