Keep Moving Forward

“Around here, however, we don’t look backwards for very long. We keep moving forward, opening up new doors and doing new things… and curiosity keeps leading us down new paths.”
–Walt Disney

I woke up this morning and it was a new day.  What happened yesterday or last week or last month or last year held less meaning this morning than it did yesterday – and it will hold even less meaning tomorrow.  Each day is a new day.  And all we can do is press on, move forward, do new things.

I’ve known this for a while but find that I’m truly happier when I live it.  And living it isn’t always easy.  We let the regrets of the past steal our joy away from the now.  We let the worry of tomorrow, or next week or next year overwhelm us to the point that we become less capable to do something brilliant today – that might ease the worry down the road.  We become down and doubt ourselves and that’s poisonous.  So here’s the thing, I’m done.  I’m done with all of it.  We are not victims of our own lives and I’m tired of feeling and acting like one.  We have no right to feel sorry for ourselves but we do have the power to spend today pulling ourselves out.  We have the right to move forward.  We have the right to do new things.  Fear and doubt be damned.

Today I will move forward.  Maybe just a step or two but it will be a step in the right direction.  I will ask my life for something good and won’t take no for an answer.  I’ll be the best me I can be today and not worry about the things that are beyond my control.  Worry about those things are a sure recipe for failure.

Are you stuck in a rut?  Maybe it isn’t a BAD rut or a rut of discontent but are you stuck just the same?  What can you do different today?  How can you change your attitude?  How can you make your life better?  Well…. what are you waiting for?  Go ahead and do it.  Because you’re the only one who can.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Keep Moving Forward

  1. Alisha Holt

    The right words at the right moment for me today! Thanx!!

  2. Pingback: A Rutted Road | Ps of Mine

Leave a Reply

