Easy Summer Shrimp with Tomato-Feta Sauce

I’ve talked before about my love of easy, quick recipes this time of year.  We’re always busy with activities and while I love the food that’s available this time of year, I rarely have the luxury of spending hours in the kitchen slaving over the hot stove.  I came across this recipe on one of my many favorite food blogs and had to give it a try.  With just a couple of adjustments, it was a keeper.  Even my boys thought it was truly something special.  It was also easy beyond belief – not to mention healthy.  I don’t currently have dill planted in the garden but I’m considering it… just for this dish.  I simply served this with crusty bread but suspect that next time, I’ll go ahead and prepare some rice.

Easy Summer Shrimp with Tomato-Feta Sauce

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 medium onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

2 14.5 oz. cans diced tomatoes (I prefer Muir Glen)

1/4 cup minced fresh parsley

1 tablespoon minced fresh dill (or you can substitue 1 teaspoon of dried dill)

1 to 1 1/4 pounds medium raw shrimp, peeled and deveined, thawed if frozen

Salt and pepper to taste

4 oz. Feta cheese, crumbled

Preheat oven to 425.  In a large, oven proof skillet or dutch oven, heat oil over medium heat.  Add onion and saute until softened, 3-5 minutes.  Add minced garlic and saute until fragrant, about 30 seconds more.

Add tomatoes and bring to a simmer.  Reduce heat and allow to simmer for about 10 minutes to allow the juices to thicken.

Remove from heat.  Add parsley, dill, shrimp, feta and salt and pepper.  Place pan in oven and bake, uncovered, 10-12 minutes or until shrimp is cooked through.  Remove from oven and add salt and pepper to taste.

Serve immediately with rice, pasta or crusty french bread.

Serves 4

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

