Thoughts on the Season

This morning, I was greeted with a quote that seemed to sum up so many things going through my head about this time of year:

“In every girls life, there’s a boy she’ll never forget, and a summer where it all began.” ~ unknown

As I sent my boys off today – near the end of their final weeks of 5th and 8th grade, I was filled with thoughts about summer.  Specifically my summers.  They weren’t always monumental on the surface but each year that same feeling returns.  Excitement about lazy days and late nights.  A small break from the constant feeling of “have tos” and “need tos”.  Freedom.

There was the occasional road trip.  Once every few years a vacation found it’s way into the budget.  There were trips to the local pool and long days with good friends.  It was hot, it was at times uncomfortable but it was summer.

And I’m now sitting here thinking about the summers that my boys have and will experience.  Their excitement at the end of school is palatable.  I don’t want them to lose that enthusiasm for this special time of year.  This time when they’re allowed to just be who they are and do what they love to do.  There will be a lot of baseball for the oldest and probably many trips to the lake for the youngest.  There will be late-night runs to the sno-cone stand and driveway movie parties for all of the friends and neighbors.  I look forward to the memories they’ll build in the next three months.

And hopefully, I’ll feel some of that old charm of the season as well.  For me there was a boy and a summer when it all began.  And I’m not even close to being ready for it to end.

Leave a comment

Filed under Stories/Life, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

