Left Behind

It’s the Fourth of July.  Our country is 235 years old.  I think she looks good for her age.  Sure there have been downtimes and good times.  Struggles and triumphs.  Yet it’s the combination of all of these things that make her the great country she is.  An easy road is not always the best road.  Life isn’t meant to be all rainbows and unicorns.  Its the hardships that develop us.  The downtimes give us focus and allow us to dream.  Without struggles, there would be no triumphs – nothing to triumph over.

It’s much the same for us as individuals.  An easy life is rarely the best life.  Problems help to hone away our rough edges and allow us to sharpen our lives in a way that nothing else can.  We grow through adversity.  We shine when things are at their worst.  This is one of the things that most fascinates me about the human spirit.

Over the past few months, Ty and I have come to a sobering realization that his industry is dying, or at the very least morphing into something that renders him useless.  User friendly computer programs combined with a desire by companies to trim budgets has lead to a huge reduction in the need of graphic designers.  Why pay a professional $80K a year when you can hire a kid out of high school who can work Photoshop for $10 an hour?  And there’s nothing to indicate that things will get any better.  We, it seems, have been left behind.  So what do you do?  It seems the only answer is to find an entirely different path.  But how? That is a question that I won’t be answering in this blog.  The truth is that we just don’t know.  But you can be sure I’ll be talking about it more here in the future.  It’s exciting and terrifying.

As for me?  Well my industry is, thankfully, alive and well.  People will always need to eat and the slow food movement has helped more and more people to truly appreciate good food.  My issue is that I feel the need to legitimize myself in order to move forward.  I have a lot of passion, a little skill and even a little talent but none of those are being targeted toward growth.  I need to do more.

So, I’ve spent the morning requesting information from every Culinary School in town and a few out of town.  I’m not entirely sure what my future holds but no matter what I pursue, education can’t hurt.  I’m trying to quieten the voices in my head that tell me I’m too old and that there’s no way we can afford it.  I’m just putting one foot in front of the other and hoping and praying that pathways open as I get to them.

So keep us in your thoughts and prayers.  It’s difficult road to walk at 40+.  But life has left us no option.  It’s either adapt or be left behind.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

