Back to School

So it seems that The Gourmet Girl is about to go on a journey.  Six weeks ago, if you had told me that I’d be writing this I would have rolled my eyes at you and sighed wistfully.  But on one bad day where I felt at the end of my rope in the job market, I sent an email request for information from a handful of Culinary Schools.  Today, I received word that I have been accepted and enough financial aid has been rewarded to cover my year at Le Cordon Bleu.

Why Le Cordon Bleu?  To be honest, it wasn’t my first choice. I once worked for someone who had a certificate from the Le Cordon Bleu in France and she was, quite frankly, an idiot.  I originally sent away for info from several schools in Texas, including a few in Austin and (my first choice) the CIA in San Antonio.  But once I stopped looking at this as a pipe dream and more of a reality, well, I needed to be in D/FW.  I didn’t feel that I wanted to invest 2 years in an associates program from a community college and I wanted a school that did nothing but culinary and pastry.  That ruled out AIMS and the Art Academy.  From what was left, this was the best choice.  And maybe my old boss was just an idiot in her own right – despite Le Cordon Bleu.  And I LOVED the variation of times offered.  I’ll be attending Monday-Friday 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m.  This means I can have a life outside of school.  And I won’t miss too many baseball games or other family activities.  That was VERY important to me.  No doubt there will be extra time spent at the school and a lot of homework but I’m excited to have a schedule that doesn’t instantly pull me from my life as a wife, friend and mom.

Why haven’t I done this earlier?  I had no idea how simple the process would be.  Culinary school is something that I’ve always wanted to do.  I’ve never felt legit or official.  I fell into food.  It wasn’t what I ever thought I would do.  And yet, I’m so incredibly passionate about some aspects of food that I can’t imagine doing anything else.  So now, at 41 (and I’m sure a good 20+ years older than most of my future classmates), I’m embarking on a new and very exciting path.  What will happen over the next year?  How will I do?  I’m expecting my work-your-butt-off ethic to be much stronger than it was at 18.  I hope it pays off.

I plan to blog it.  The journey, the lessons, the good, the bad, the recipes.  After all, food writing is also a huge passion for me.  Why not keep doing it through school?  Hopefully this will lead to other opportunities.  Hopefully  I’ll emerge with a clearer vision of what I want to do with the rest of my life.  It’s never too late to figure that out, right?

So from August 15, 2011 to August 17, 2012 follow my journey.  Maybe there’s something you’d like to do as well.  If I can do something drastic at 41 – anyone can.  It’s a new road that I can’t WAIT to take.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Back to School

  1. Bret

    Good luck! I can’t wait to live vicariously through your cullinary adventures.

Leave a Reply

