Fitting In

Today I had my final hoop-jumping episode for becoming a full-time registered student at Le Cordon Bleu.  This is the fun process of the official uniform fitting.  While I have to admit that I still love getting to work in chef’s pants (only SLIGHTLY less comfy than pajamas), I’ve lost the “ooh-ahh” factor of the traditional uniform.  It was fun to be in a room with many kids (high school class of 2011 kids) who were trying out their very first set of chef coats and houndstooth pants.  There were almost literally stars in some of their eyes.  Seeing them see themselves for the first time in the professional world was heartwarming.  I do remember that feeling.  It’s a good one – probably akin to a medical professional putting on that first pair of scrubs.

Today I also had to take the Wonderlic exam.  If you’re not familiar with this, it’s a series of 50 logic questions in progressing difficulty designed to rate common sense.  You have 12 minutes to answer as many questions as you can and you score one point per question.  The max score is 50.  I read once that one NFL player has scored perfectly but I was assured that this was not expected from LCB students.  The average football player scores a 20.  In order to be admitted into LCB and be given the freedom to wield knives, play with fire, lift heavy objects and put yourself in harms way constantly, you have to score a 12.  A 12?  Really?  I do NOT want to have a station next to a person who ekes by with a 12 or 13.  No thanks.  I was relieved when I was told my score was a 34 – and yet I will still inevitably do something stupid and careless before this is all over, I’m sure.  A 12.

One of the things that has made me smile each and every time I visit the school is this sign.  Keep in mind that LCB issues each and every student a full set of very very sharp knives before they begin classes.  Who needs weapons?

All in all it’s been a good day.  I shook the hand of the admissions rep who welcomed me to the school.  I guess I can stop prefacing my discussions with “if all goes well”.  It seems that it has.  I go back for orientation on August 12 at 10:00 a.m. and then begin classes on Monday the 15th.  Adventure awaits.  It’s time to kick some cuisine butt.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Fitting In

  1. Frugal In Fort Worth Blog

    So excited for you friend! I am incredibly proud of you for taking the leap to do this. I look forward to hearing all about the adventure. 🙂

Leave a Reply

