A Short Blog with a Big Endorsement

I’m not one to watch much Food Network.  I can’t stand Rachel Ray, listening to Paula Deen makes my skin crawl and since I’m not a red blooded american male, I find Giada’s show something like watching a golf tournament on TV.  I roll my eyes at Iron Chef (yeah, SURE they don’t know that “mystery” ingredient) and don’t even get me started on the myriad of TV “chefs” who appear during the daytime hours – only slightly less annoying that the ABC soap operas.

I don’t subscribe to a ton of magazines with recipes and ideas for the “perfect” casserole.  They just don’t do it for me.  So when I come across something that really gets my attention, I want to share it.  This something is a magazine… or a periodical…. and it’s called Lucky Peach.

I’ll say now that this thing isn’t for everyone.  If you’re easily offended by foul language, this probably isn’t for you.  It’s raw and real and completely genius.  My friend, Steve Wilson (http://www.3dchef.com/Site/3DChef.html) turned me on to the first issue which is now available at Barnes & Noble.  The first issue is all about Ramen.  Not the stuff that you buy for .25 at Kroger but real Ramen that works the Japanese into a frenzy.  The writing is beautiful, the art direction is spectacular.  It’s a feast for the eyes and one that needs to be read cover to cover if you’re a Foodie who finds that kind of thing interesting.  David Chang’s (NYCs Momofuku) name is on the masthead and writer Peter Meehan is also a primary creator in the endeavor.  There were significant contributions from Wiley Dufresne (WD-50 in NYC) and Anthony Bourdain (walking, talking genius).  I can’t tell you how much I love it.  There is also an iPad App that’s about to launch.  When I get my iPad, this may be the first thing I buy.

The magazine will come out quarterly.  The shelf price is $10/issue but you can subscribe at http://www.mcsweeneys.net/luckypeach/ for $28/year.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

