Rebels and Pirates

In the movie, Ratatouille, there is a great scene where Colette (voiced by the genius Janeane Garofalo) is teaching Linguini the ins and outs of the kitchen.  She describes the kitchen crew as rebels and pirates then goes into more detail:

Colette: Horst has done time.
Linguini: What for?
Colette: No one know for sure. He changes the story every time you ask him.
Horst: I defrauded a major corporation.
Horst: I robbed the second-largest bank in France using only a ball-point pen.
Horst: I created a hole in the ozone layer over Avignon.
Horst: I killed a man… with this thumb.

When I started at Le Cordon Bleu I knew that many aspects of this movie were dead on.  It was obvious that the writers had done their research but I had no idea that this particular exchange would ring a bell during only my 5th week of school.

Many people in my class come from interesting pasts.  Many are former drug addicts and alcoholics.  Several are former service members and heroes.  One was an interrogator in Iraq.  One kid lives in his car.  None have stuck me so much, however, as the girl who sits behind me.  Yesterday, she was absent.  It was a bad day to be absent.  She had the flash drive that contained a group project that was due.  Her team members were not pleased and when they tried to call her, her phone was off.  Today she was back, with quite the story.  This girl (I’ll call her Leslie) had a baby in April.  On July 4th, she put the baby down and went out to watch fireworks with a group of people.  When she went back in, the baby had died.  Tragic and horrible.  She told us this on the first day of class (just 6 weeks after the tragedy) and I thought seemed terribly unaffected.  I wrote it off as a coping mechanism.  Evidently over the weekend, she was taken in to custody, questioned for three days and then released but has warned everyone that she probably won’t be in school for much longer.  According to her, she is now a suspect.  Several things strike me about this.  One… I’m aghast that Leslie would TELL anyone this.  If it’s not true and she’s cleared, why would she want us to know.  Two… another class member suggested that maybe it isn’t true and she was just looking for a good excuse for her absence yesterday that caused so many people to be angry with her.  But why would you make up THAT?  She’s pregnant again (and has been since late July).  Why not just say that you were sick?  Why make up something so awful, wouldn’t that also make her a complete sociopath?  The whole thing has left me disconcerted and almost unable to look at her.  I’ll keep you posted if and when things develop.

On my career front, I’m staying mostly out of trouble (at least relatively speaking).  I’m doing well in school but I’m working hard for it.  My instructor doesn’t understand why I care so much about getting good grades but I don’t care.  I think he occasionally becomes frustrated with my questions and requests for more detail but he doesn’t intimidate me.  Actually, I might intimidate him.  He’s brand new to teaching and it shows.  He’s a nice guy and I think that, in time, he’ll be a great teacher but I’m not willing to suffer for his ignorance on a lot of things.  In just a week and a half, I move into Culinary Foundations II and a different instructor.  In fact, one of the instructors is Chef Uwe Mueller – who was my chef at UNT 20 years ago.  I’m hoping to get him.  That would just be a blast

I’m currently looking for an interesting place to do my internship.  I don’t want to do something average or normal.  I want extraordinary.  I applied for the Disney externship and will interview with them on October 20th.  I did the college program there in 1989 and going back would just be a trip.  And if I found a good, permanent job with them, my family would move.  The adventure is a fun thought.  If I don’t get that though, I’ll find something here.  I love to teach and would love to work with people.  If you know of anything that fits that, let me know.

In the meantime, I’m studying and cooking and working on my plating techniques.  I’m trying to learn as much as I can before my Disney interview so I don’t come across as a new, inexperienced student.  Oh.. and interesting thing… Leslie is convinced that she’s going to get the Disney externship.  And I thought her wrist tattoos would be the only thing that kept her from doing it….

Ty is also doing well.  He has been hired by Apple and we’re very excited.  It’s an entry-level, foot-in-the-door job but it’s Apple.  He’ll be starting at the Southlake store either this week or next.  WooHOO!!!!!!!!!

Collin is doing well in baseball.  He pitched one inning of his first high school game on Saturday.  12 pitches, two strikeouts and a flyout.  Yesterday his baseball coach (who is also his World Geography teacher) called him “Mr. three up/three down” and said they might start him in a game this Saturday.  That’s amazing for a freshman on a JV team.

Camden is also well.  He’s been elected Student Council Class Representative.  He’s blossoming and it’s fun to watch.  He’s also been having a blast in his First Lego League robotics competition team.  It’s nice for him to have a thing of his own.

I could write so much more but I have a train coming and want to get this posted.  It’s a busy and interesting time in our family’s life.  It will be fun to see how things play out.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

