I’m Going to Disney World

Maybe you’ve seen my posts about this or maybe you haven’t. But it’s official. I’m going to Disney World. I’ve been hesitant to write too much about it because the truth is that I’m not sure how I feel. But today at LCB, the Disney reps were on campus and I got a twinge of excitement so I’ll go ahead and talk about it now.

Here’s what happened…. I saw a bulletin board announcement about Disney coming and recruiting for their culinary externship program and thought it sounded like something I MIGHT be interested. I talked it over with Ty and the boys (who are so incredibly supportive) and decided to fill out the online app so that I could talk to a rep when they came to the school. I had a couple of concerns about my age and lack of kitchen experience so if any of that disqualified me from employment, I wanted to know. I was quite honest about all of that on my application. A few days later, I received an email asking me to set up a phone interview instead of waiting until they came to recruit on campus. I’m pretty sure this has a lot to do with my being an alumni of the college program (from 1989!). I did the phone interview and felt good about it. I get the whole Disney thing. I know what they look for. Truth is, I was expecting and offer. On Tuesday of this week, that offer came. I (again) talked it over with Ty and with his blessing, nay, his encouragement, I accepted the offer.

I’m happy. Not so much about the Disney aspect but I’m happy to know that my required externship is arranged and I don’t have to worry about it anymore. That was a stressful thing to me. I’ve been reading blogs from others who are doing it and I’ve learned a few things. One… there’s nothing Mickey Mouse about it. It’s a tough externship. Long hours, incredibly heavy volume, frustrations, stress… all of those things that go along with a true kitchen experience. I’ve read about double shifts (thank goodness for overtime pay!), being too exhausted to eat or sleep or do much of anything. I’m okay with all of this. I’m truly going to work – hard. I’m wanting to experience these things that I haven’t before. I want to learn.

Today the chef rep held about a 45 minute meeting where he detailed out the program to those who were interested (I’m the only one from my school who’s already interviewed and certainly the only one who’s been accepted). He talked about pay scales (which haven’t changed too terribly much since 1989) and Vista Way Apartments (the very same ones I lived in before). About dress codes, personal appearance policies and the costume department (which prevents us from ever having to worry about washing or ironing our chef whites). It was a fun meeting and I left excited but also apprehensive. It’s going to be hard. I’m going to be homesick in a way that I’ve never been before. But I’m going to be thrown into the deep end into a prestigeous program that will round out my year in culinary school nicely. What will come of it? I have no idea. But I’m anxious to prove myself.

I’m not sure exactly when I’ll find out where I’ll be working. I have to pay a housing deposit. Possibly then… or maybe when I move in to the apartment. I’ve heard conflicting reports. I do know that i’m not in the Magic Kingdom (THANK GOODNESS!). You get paid more if you’re there (though I’m sure you certainly earn it) and my pay offer was standard. That rules out my fear of being placed at the Pinocchio Village House. I’ll keep you posted as I know more.

And my boys? They’re all excited. They will be coming out for a visit about halfway through. Ty may even try to schedule a gig or two there so they can stay a bit longer. Collin is excited about the beach and Camden can’t wait to ride the Rockin’ Rollercoaster.

I don’t leave until May 16 so there is still plenty of school to go. But the big stress of finding a good externship has been alleviated. Thanks to a giant mouse.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “I’m Going to Disney World

  1. Frugal In Fort Worth Blog

    Yeah!!! I am so happy for you! AND, OF COURSE Disney picked you (I am not at all surprised). They continue to confirm their reputation that they are a smart, well-run company, only seeking the best. Congrats and hugs being sent your way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

