Beginnings and Ends

Hey Everyone!  It’s cold this morning.  This makes me so happy.  Remind me of that when I’m griping about it in February!  After the long hot summer, I wasn’t sure it would ever be cold again.

It’s been a very busy week in my world.  Finals.  The downside of doing accelerated college is that you rarely have time to breathe.  We just finished the last week of Culinary II and I’m happy to report that my 4.0 GPA is still in tact!  Today is a much-loved day off and then we start Culinary III (the final Foundations class) on Monday.  I’m looking very forward to that one as we finally get to start cooking and fabricating meats.  $50 says we’ll start by roasting a chicken.  This is also the class where we get to play a bit with the recipes.  This makes me happy.  Classical French cuisine could, as a rule, use some serious help.  And sticking to a recipe just isn’t my style.  It’s been a struggle.

I mentioned the upcoming food blog earlier and I’m happy to report that things are moving along nicely with that.  We met with the genius web-guy on Tuesday and the site design is underway.   I’m so excited about this.  It will be a professional food blog with a lot of fun interactive things, videos, food-related travel, restaurant reviews, recipes, an online store and more.  I’m still figuring out what to do with this blog.  I’m going to keep it… it’s a more personal outlet than the other one will be but I’ll probably save most of my serious food stuff to put over there.  That won’t be easy.  I just spent two hours writing all about pie crusts and not sharing here feels unnatural.  Maybe I’ll feel better about it once it’s up and running.

I’m now going to put down the computer and enjoy the day off.  I think a nap is in my future.  Yay me!

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

