The Countdown is On

Texas Wildflowers

I wonder how many times a person has to uproot their life before it becomes easy.  For me it is not.  It’s now been about 3 weeks since we made that massive decision to pack up everything and move to Orlando and, instead of dealing with it better, I find that with each day, I become more weepy, more nostalgic, more anxious.  I love change.  I love fresh starts.  I love the idea of reinvention.

Florida Beaches

But I also love Texas.  I love horses and longhorns and wildflowers and Mexican food.  I love seeing cowboy boots at the symphony, bluejeans at the theatre.  I love long drawls, big hats and friendly people.  While I suspect that some of these things may be unique to Texas, I realize that I’ll be trading one set of loves for another one.  Citrus and palm trees, white sand, salt water, warm winters, Cuban food and, of course, the “happiest place on earth.”  And yet, I’m sad.  Sad to be leaving friends, family and the only home I’ve ever known.

Downtown Fort Worth

Downtown Orlando

In the last few weeks or months, I’ve completed a short Texas ‘Bucket List’.  I’ve been to Austin and driven the Willow City Loop.  I’ve seen the most stunning display of wildflowers, I’ve had a cucumber martini from the South Congress Cafe, I’ve been to the Cowtown Farmers Market, watched my son play ball at LaGrave Field and eaten BBQ on the banks of the Trinity River.  I’d still like to have a burger at The Love Shack, walk around downtown Fort Worth, see a Ranger game at the Ballpark, have dinner at Bonnell’s, visit the Fort Worth Zoo and picnic at Trinity park.  Most of all, I’d see ALL of my friends.  I’d like to say, ‘goodbye’.  Not sure time or money will allow these things but if resources were no issue, these are the things I’d do.

That being said, I’m happy to know that I’ve truly experienced Texas.  I know my little town of Fort Worth and know I will always be welcomed back.  I’ve done Texas and compared to many, I’ve done it well.  I’m sure I’ll find other things in Florida that I love.  I’m sure I’ll discover joy in Floridian Cuisine (whatever THAT is).  And I’m sure I’ll have visitors.  That’s the good thing about moving to Disney World.  Most people go there at one time or another.

Fort Worth Stockyards

So what I ask from you now is prayer, support, good thoughts, whatever you have to offer.  I’ll need strength to get on that plane in three weeks and leave my friends and family behind.  We’ll need encouragement to keep pushing through the issues that will inevitably arise.  Pray for work, schools, friends, housing and just about everything else.  There is little we

Downtown Disney

know.  This is a leap of faith.  And a heck of a leap it is.  And we’d love to see you.  We’d love to sit on the banks of the Trinity River and have a Shiner Bock and some BBQ with you.  We’d love to talk and to laugh and to have one last moment of joy with so many of you whom we love.  And when you’re in Orlando, give us a call.  We’ll be there, waiting with open arms to embrace our friends and loved ones from home.  We’ll be anxious to hear about you and about Texas, which will always be in our hearts.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

