Two Weeks to Go

The end of the College Program in 1989. I wonder how different this time will be?

  Two weeks from this moment I will be on a plane.  I will have said a permanent goodbye to the house I’ve lived in for 10 years and a long goodbye to home I love and those who share it with me.  Two weeks from this moment, the adventure will no longer be a theory but a reality.  Two weeks from today, I’ll be doing something that has long fell on my ‘someday’ list.  To those of you who move often or even relatively often, you may snicker at the gravity with which I’m approaching this life change – at how I’m trying so deliberately to not take any moment for granted leading up to my departure.  But this is me.  I mentioned to Ty that maybe a less tormented way to spend my final weeks in Texas would be to do and see the things that I hate.  Stand in 110-degree heat,  or better yet, go walk around Trader’s Village in it.  Drive around Downtown Dallas.  Go up and down 820 during rush hour.  But the truth is that this list is short, there are very few things I don’t love about Texas and one of the things I’m most looking forward to is coming back as a visitor and seeing things with fresh eyes.  So this weekend, I will not seek out the unpleasant things nearby but I will be attending a baseball tournament, possibly the last one in Texas.  I will be spending Sunday evening downtown in my beloved Fort Worth, watching a movie, walking around, taking it all in.  Next week I will go see a movie with my classmates – whom I love and will miss.  And each day I will listen to Lyle Lovett or Townes Van Zandt or Willie Nelson and sometimes I will get misty.  And truthfully, I wouldn’t want to leave Texas any other way.

My days are spent not only pondering my current home but preparing to move to my new one.  Each new physical act of preparation calms my nerves.  We can do this.  It’s just a step at a time.  I will arrive in Orlando on Tuesday May 15 at 6:45 and will be shuttled to an airport hotel.  On Wednesday morning at 8:00 a.m, I will report to Vista Way (the original Disney apartment complex) where I spent the summer of 1989.  I’m going to save most of the details for those of you looking forward to following our experiences in real-time.  Lets just say that I’m praying for a quiet roommate in a quiet apartment complex.  Will I get it?  Who knows…….

As I type this, I’m surrounded by boxes.  We’ve rented a storage building and are preparing to store most of our belongings until early September.  Ty and the boys will be in the house until school ends.  At that point, they’ll begin the process of preparing to join me in Florida.  Ty is doing a Live Event Painting! for a wedding at the Modern Art Museum in Fort Worth on June 9.  After that, they’ll head my way.  No doubt by then, I’ll be almost sick with missing them.  That being said, if you’re in a position to toss Ty a gig or two or a design job in the next 6 weeks, please do.  Moving is expensive.  We’ll both be working as much as possible.  I’m counting on that excellent Disney overtime policy.

My boys are handling the crazy well so far.  Collin already has a (girl)friend from the school he’s hoping to attend (Thanks, Facebook).  This school currently has the #1 ranked baseball program in the country.  Collin’s current coach has already volunteered to send an email to the new coach saying all sorts of positive things and Collin and Ty are already scoping out batting facilities, practice fields and select teams.  If any of you have insight, please help us out.  The only sticky widget is that the school’s area seems to be a nice one.  Fingers crossed that we can find an affordable apartment/extended stay hotel in that area.  Camden is just ready to go.  Ready to make new friends, build robots and maybe learn a thing or two about Imagineering.

So that’s where we are.  I’ll touch base again in a week or so.  By then, my packing will have probably begun in earnest.  Thank goodness I’m flying Southwest, where bags fly free.  My list of things I want to take gets bigger every day.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Two Weeks to Go

  1. If the new school’s athletic program requires a physical, ask if you can get their form ahead of time and get his physical this Summer before he leaves Texas. That will save you having to find a Dr right away while you are trying to get settled. Also keep important documents like birth certificates and vaccination records accessible – it may take a while to get all those boxes unpacked. Good Luck!!

Leave a Reply

