My Own Rockin’ Roller Coaster of Emotion

Just one week from tomorrow, I get on a plane.  It’s like a big dead end… or a big scary beginning.  Either way, it’s coming and it’s coming quickly.  After a weekend of baseball and fun with friends, I’m feeling the pressure to get things done.  Today, I actually opened a suitcase and started tossing stuff in.  I’m baffled at how I’m going to get everything to Florida in two suitcases and a carry on.  I don’t remember packing bedding in 1989.  That alone is a suitcase – a big one.  And then there’s the Keurig and a month’s worth of K-cups.  Because I might be okay if I run out of food, but if I’m working 60+ hours and run out of coffee, I will NOT be a happy Disney employee. Cast Member.

My list of must-dos is narrowing as time runs out.  A couple of days ago, I realized that I have NEVER been to the Ol South Pancake House.  Never.  It’s a freaking Fort Worth institution and I have never been.  Ty has described it as like a IHOP where your feet stick to the carpet.  This might turn you off but not me.  I have to go.  And I’m not satisfied to just go in the middle of the day.  Nope.  I want German pancakes sometime between 11 pm and 2 am.  My husband is, as you can imagine, thrilled.

Last night I spent with people I love in Downtown Fort Worth.  It was glorious and I only got weepy twice through the entire night.  And once, it was dark – no one noticed so I’m pretty sure no one thought I was too much of a freak.

School is still going well and it’s apparent that the end is near.  Our final projects are due on Wednesday and tomorrow, we’re doing our largest simulated restaurant line yet.  My group gets the Garde Manger station.  We’re responsible for Caesar Salad, Gazpacho and Mussels.  I’m very excited about the Gazpacho.  We’re skipping the classical recipe and opting for the Grape and Almond Gazpacho that was featured in this blog way back at the very beginning:  https://thegourmetgirls.wordpress.com/2009/06/16/a-different-take-on-gazpacho/  I love that my Chef gives us freedom with the recipes.  That’s not something that they all do.  Also, on Wednesday, Disney will be back on campus recruiting for summer and fall programs.  I’m planning to go to the presentation, just hoping to catch a little pixie dust.

I’ve found that some of you are enjoying the blog and living vicariously through our crazy.  I’ve been met with everything from, “I don’t know how you can do it” to “Awesome”.  I understand both.  I feel both.  Keep following.  Once I’m in Florida, things should get interesting.  I hope to post frequently with fun tales of being a middle-aged woman in a young person’s world.  I hope to also get back to posting recipes, Disney insider stuff and all that goes with it.  At times, those of you reading may be my only outlet to vent frustrations, share joys and express sorrows.  I have no idea what next week holds.  Much less next month.  So stick around, cue in your friends who might also enjoy the ride.  Not sure if it will be more like, Mr. Toad’s Wild Ride, Snow White’s Scary Adventures, Rockin’ Roller Coaster or the Tower of Terror.  Probably some of all on any given day.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “My Own Rockin’ Roller Coaster of Emotion

  1. Andrea

    So excited for you! I’ve never even been to Disney, but i have moved across the country ( and had an amazing culinary experience in doing so) chalk me up to on the “living vicariously through you” side of the board. I cant wait to read what happens next!

Leave a Reply

