Running Debt

Lately I’ve not been a good runner.  First it was school, then a knee injury, then a nagging sore foot.  Then there was the eggs benedict and butter and heavy cream for breakfast two or three times a week.  I used school as a reason to let things slide.  And slide they did.  I’ve noticed it not just in the size of my clothes, but in the way I feel and move.  

It’s so silly, really.  I love to run.  I love the way it makes me feel, makes me look.  I love that it gives me confidence and a sense of accomplishment every time my shoes hit that pavement.  Most of all, I love that 10 years ago, I would tell people that I “couldn’t” run.  I believed that whole heartedly.  It hurt, it just wasn’t for me.  But like so many things in this life, no matter how much I believed I was right, I was wrong.  I love that I proved myself wrong.

And so, at this moment of a nearly impossible-to-deal-with uprooting of my entire life, I find myself drawn back to running.  It’s not easy to get started again – but it’s not as difficult as starting for the first time and that gives me comfort.

So in much the same way that it’s almost time to start paying on those pesky student loans, it’s time to move from student, to bonafide grownup.  And it’s time to once again get moving.  

All of that being said, I could use a running buddy.  Not physically, but emotionally.  Are you ready to start something amazing?  Are you ready to prove yourself wrong?  The secret is to start slow and progress.  Before you know it, you’re finishing a 5K with tears in your eyes. I know, I’ve been there.  

I’m planning to run a half-marathon in November and possibly a marathon in January.  There’s still time to train.  Want to train too?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

