Laissez le Bons Temps Rouler!

I haven’t written in a couple of days because there really hasn’t been much to say.  The day after Traditions, I had a Food & Beverage Orientation which was basically a dull, 4-hour crash course in Sanitation.  Staying awake was literally a challenge.  After orientation ended, my roommate and I headed over to EPCOT to catch the end of the Spring Garden Festival.  It was beautiful and I took a lot of pictures but am still unable to get them from the camera onto the computer.  I miss my iPad muchly.  We ended up staying at EPCOT longer than we should have and I became very tired and very hungry.  Of course everything in the World Showcase was packed so we scooted over to the Boardwalk (one of my favorite Disney spots) and picked up a pizza and a beer from Cat Cora’s Pizzeria.  We sat by the water and refueled enough to make it to the bus stop and eventually home.

Speaking of the buses – they’re a hassle.  To get anywhere takes hours.  The college program is so big now and there are so many stops.  Just to go to the grocery store is a 3 hour trip.  I miss my car.  My mornings aren’t too bad.  For the next couple of weeks I’ll be leaving my apartment at 7:23 and arriving at Port Orleans at about 7:45.  But getting home is at least another hour.  I think they do the best they can but a large percentage of my day is eaten up with transportation.

On Sunday I was tired.  So tired in fact that I stayed at home and napped on and off all day.  My roommate was at the Magic Kingdom so I had the place to myself and I took full advantage.  I really can’t even remember what I did when I was awake.  It was like the past week had just caught up to me.

Yesterday I awoke feeling good.  I took an early bus to Animal Kingdom and was there when the gates opened (or as Disney calls it, rope drop).  I spent about 3 hours in the park, rode Expedition Everest a couple of times and when lunch time rolled around, headed back to the apartment.  After lunch, I spent time at the pool and ended my day with much-needed grocery shopping.  Sadly, I am just now realizing that I forgot to buy toilet paper and hoping my roommate brought a roll with her.  If not, the rest of this evening will be wasted on a 2 hour TP run to Publix.

Today I was back to work.  I took an early bus to the Cast Services Center for Port Orleans for resort orientation.  Lots of rah rah, we’re the best stuff,  a good tour of this very large property, lunch, more safety training and we were finally sent to Wardrobe to pick up our costumes.  Yes, at Disney, everyone wears costumes, NOT uniforms and everyone has roles, NOT jobs.  I was issued 5 chef coats, 5 pairs of pants, a random number of aprons and a ballcap.  YES!  I was really hoping to be somewhere with ball caps instead of skull caps.  One of the best things about working here is that I never have to wash my own chef coats again.  They get dirty, I turn them in and get new ones.  That’s a very good thing.

Now, about my job (er…”role”).  I’ll be working at the Port Orleans Resort.  It’s a beautiful moderate resort that has two separate areas.  One is very deep south, river, Huck Finn and the other is French Quarter.  When we received our training schedules, I learned that they plan for me to cross-train at several areas in the resort.   Initially I’ll be working 8:00-4:30 but as I move locations, those times will change.   When it’s all said and done and I start looking at my dream positions within the company, I’m not sure a kitchen is where I ultimately want to be.  I very much enjoy teaching and I love being in front of people.  I’m hoping to find a place to use those skills – yet still be involved with food on some level.  We’ll have to see what develops.  It’s an adventure.

Now I’ve found my way back to the apartment and hope to just cook a good dinner and rest tonight.  I have another early day tomorrow.  Four hours of “E-learning”.  Computer training is all the rage here.  I’d roll my eyes but the truth is that every computer training item that you complete, opens up more doors and more possibilities within the company.  It’s dull but I’ll make it through.  If all goes as planned, I’ll be in a kitchen training on Thursday.  Our class coordinator today works in the bakery.  If he’s any indication, this job is going to be a fun one.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

