Saturday

One of the things that happens when you work for Disney (and honestly, it probably happens with most kitchen jobs) is that you easily lose track of days.  It’s not only that your days off are usually sometime in the middle of a week, but so are everyone else’s.  People are constantly saying, “Today is my Friday” or “Today is my Tuesday”.  The weeks reshape into some sort of format that works in your brain based on your days off.  Well, today is my Saturday, though this week, my Saturday will also be my Saturday.  Next week, Tuesday will be my Friday, Wednesday will be my Saturday and Thursday will be my Sunday.  See what I mean?

Exterior of Boatwright’s Dining Hall. Not working here yet, but I will

I’ve just finished a week of work at Port Orleans Riverside.  It hasn’t been bad – some aspects of the job I truly enjoy.  I like that busy, rockstar feeling when you know what you need to do, how you need to do it and things are busy and chaotic around you.  I like most of the people I’ve met and seem to get along okay with everyone so far.  And I think I’m doing a good job so far.  I’m far from perfect as there are 18-million-and-one things to learn but so far I’m keeping up.  I’m going to be getting a wide variety of kitchen experiences and am certainly becoming accustomed to working fast and efficiently for the thousands of people who come through our hotel restaurants every single day.  It’s a demanding job – physically and mentally but I’m keeping up and my body is screaming in rebellion far less now than it did four or five days ago.  At least at my location, we make most everything from scratch.  There are some in other outlets who use all pre-made items that they simply bake off.  I grill 20 or so marinated flank steaks a day, and we make our own sauces and our own pasta salads and such.  That’s a big deal in my book.  Contrary to popular belief, I’m not spending my entire externship flipping pre-manufactured patties.

The famous Beef-n-Bleu. I wonder how many of these I’ve made in the past week?

One of my favorite people from work is Victoria.  She’s a former high school English teacher from Austin who is also here on the Le Cordon Bleu Culinary Program.  Sadly, she returns to Texas in a few weeks and I will sorely miss her.  Today we share a day off (a rarity) so we’re heading out to Animal Kingdom – where she has never been.  It’s going to be a fun day, albeit partially rainy day.  I’ll have umbrella in hand and wear water-resistant shoes.  Let it rain.

This week, Tropical Storm Beryl made landfall north of us, giving us some gusty winds and bands of strong storms and hard rain yesterday.  Being a weather geek of some sorts, I loved it.  It made my job tougher as more people stuck around the hotel instead of heading to the parks but I loved the crashing thunder and sheets of rain.  At one point I looked out the window and couldn’t see the other side of the courtyard.

On that note, I’m going to run get ready for the day.  I miss so many of you and hope you’re all doing well.  Have a great day, even if this isn’t your Saturday!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

