Oh Poo!

Today is Friday (my Friday, your Friday, everybody’s Friday).  I’m sitting on my couch in the dark at 8:30 p.m.  I’m exhausted, my roommate is already asleep and I’m honestly only awake because I know I don’t have to get up early and go to work tomorrow.

Work this week has been good.  I can honestly say that I’ve never physically worked so hard in my life.  My body aches, I have a blister on my finger, I come home from the kitchen each day sweaty, tired, dirty.  And yet, I love it.  I thrive in it.  I’m right where I need to be.  Yesterday they finally moved me off of the sandwich line and put me on the grill.  That isn’t my favorite.  I’m not sure why.  It’s not hard.  But grilling chicken breasts and cooking burgers just reminds me of the fears I had about what I’d be doing after culinary school.  It’s almost too easy.  I want to cook.  I went in today expecting to be back on grill.  To my surprise, I had been moved to saute.  Out in the restaurant, we have a pasta station.  There are 3 different types of pasta, 3 sauces and a whole mess of other ingredients.  The guests tell the front of house person what they want and then I get to make it.  A little oil, a flourish of salt and pepper, some shrimp or chicken .. a lot of fire…sauce, toppings and suddenly, a delicious custom pasta is handed to them.  It’s fun – and tiring.  My wrist is sore from all of the flipping.  But I LOVED it.  I love the wide eyes of the kids when the flames shoot several feet high.  I love the feeling of cooking on stage.  It was a very good day.  By the end, I had mastered doing three orders at once.  Three pans, three separate lists of ingredients.  My ultimate goal is four.  I want to be a rockstar and I’m not there yet.  All in all, I love my location.  The externship program is very different, depending on your location.  Comparatively, mine is good.

Life at the apartment has been crazy.  Yesterday, my roommate and I awoke to a clogged toilet.  A clogged toilet that had been running continuously.  A clogged toilet, running continuously that had run over and flooded our bathroom, bedroom, closet and part of our neighbors’ apartment.  I had to be at work so my roommate called maintenance and waited for them to arrive.  When I got home last night at 5:00, my bedroom carpet had been pulled up and fans and an extractor were blowing, all of the bedroom/closet items had been stuffed into the very small living room and there was a note saying that the entire apartment would be getting new carpet today.  When I arrived at 5:00 today,  new carpet was in and everything had magically made it back to it’s proper place.  Now I just need to clean and clean well.

Tomorrow I’m off.  A piece of me would love to go check out Star Wars weekends at Disney Studios.   But doing a park on a Saturday is rough.  I’ll decide what to do tomorrow.  I may just stay in and rest.  Not enough rest in my life right now.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

