The First Month

As of today, I am exactly one month into my externship at Disney.  I’ve been working at Port Orleans for 4 weeks – two weeks at Riverside and two weeks at French Quarter.  Just when I start to feel comfortable in a position, I’m moved and trained to do something else.  It’s good but mentally exhausting.  Starting tomorrow, I work nights.  This means that I get to meet new people and do new things.  It also feels like I never get beyond a training phase, which can be difficult.

All in all, though, I love it here.  I love the people I work with, I love the work, I even love the guests.  In the week that my family has been here, I’ve started to feel less like a visitor and more that this is where I belong.

Ty and the boys are living in an extended stay hotel near Celebration, just south of Disney World.  They’re very close to me, which is nice.  I see them for a little while almost every day.  Ty is in talks to rejoin Apple and join the group that supplies caricaturists at the Disney resorts.  When those things are finalized and begin to pay, things should be less stressful for all and we can finally start to think about settling down somewhere at least a bit more permanent.  For now, we’re scraping by on my silly little Culinary Program check.  We always knew the first month would be the hardest.  I’m so very thankful for the incredible support they’ve shown me.  I’m glad we’re here but I can’t wait until we can look back on this time and laugh.  What a story!  It’s not easy, but I’d rather live fully and take risks than to always play it safe.  How dull that would be.  What a waste of a life.

Tomorrow morning, we’re letting Collin scout a few possible baseball teams at a USSSA tournament being held here and then going to the Farmers Market in downtown Orlando.  We’re still thinking about getting the Gourmet Girl  line of spices off the ground and hoping this would be a good place to sell.  Then I work from 2:30-11:00 pm.  Not sure how long it will take for me to get used to that!  I’m a morning person – always have been.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

