Taking a Break…. Needing a Break

I’m sitting in the breakroom behind the food court at Port Orleans Riverside.  I’m halfway through a break and about halfway through my shift, give or take.  I realized that I’ve become similar to other bloggers who come to Disney for an externship… I’ve gotten busy and gotten tired and haven’t posted much. 

The job is good.  Some days are better than others and I’m definitely at the bottom of a very tall totem pole but I constantly remind myself that what I’m doing now is a necessary step in finding a bit more bliss down the road.  I’m learning new things every day.  I’m facing challenges and conquering mountains each day as well.  I’ve been able to work the line in Boatwright’s a few times and enjoy it.  Working in a kitchen is hard, backbreaking labor and I’m at a point where I’m tired.  At my particular location just about everyone is working 6 days each week.  On my one day off I need and want to spend it with the boys and try to get them away from the extended stay hotel, where they spend way too much time as it is.  There are days when I feel so incredibly guilty for leaving them alone and yet, it’s a completely necessary evil at this point.  Ty and I both have to work if we want to eventually create a stable environment for them.  And frankly, a more stable environment was a key reason for relocating.  I so look forward to the day when we have an actual apartment instead of a hotel room.  I look forward to knowing that my boys have activities and friends.  Until then, I feel like a failure.

Ty has just finished his first full week of doing caricatures for the company that supplies artists to the resorts, Blizzard Beach, Downtown Disney & Animal Kingdom.  They’ve been great at giving him a lot of work and in his first week he made enough that if that continues, we’ll be okay.  Its funny how for the first time in a very long time, I’m not worried about how much money we’re making.  Now I’m just worried about how much time we’re at work.   Different problems.

This Tuesday is my day off and we’re hoping to go to the beach.  We’re also hoping to meet up with “Uncle Al”, Ty’s best friend who lives in Miami.  Al was the best man at our wedding and is truly a brother to Ty.  Our kids love him and are very excited to see him.  I’m hoping Tuesday is a day of mental and emotional rejuvenation.  We could all use it.

I hope that those of you reading this are doing well.  It has just started raining (bad news for Ty who is drawing at Blizzard Beach today) and I’m going to go outside for a few minutes before I return to the fryers.  Maybe the rain will wash some of the oil off of my skin.

Take care and keep in touch!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Taking a Break…. Needing a Break

Leave a Reply

