Quitting Sugar, Day One.

My blog here has been neglected, nearly abandoned and occasionally glanced at wistfully as I plow through my very busy real-life that has taken shape around me over the past several years. It’s been nearly 3 years since I made the move from Texas to Florida. In that time life has been busier, tougher and all-together more beautiful than it had in a very long time.

But the blog.  Oh the blog. I think at one time I swore to myself that I wouldn’t let it go. But then I realized that I had blogged mostly for me, and suddenly, I didn’t need it so much anymore. But now I’m back, for a short time anyway, because I’m facing a challenge that scares me and I could use the support and the commitment that this blog facilitates.

Several years ago, I adopted the tradition of Lent into my life. I was not raised liturgical and for many years, I paid little attention to Lent. But then I did it once and realized the benefit in setting aside 40 days each year to make some sort of sacrifice, and commit more to my spiritual well-being, my relationships to those who share my space and my personal fulfillment, which often gets placed on a back burner to earning a paycheck and doing mountains of laundry.

Last year, I made the commitment to give up red meat, which I thought would be a challenge but within a couple of weeks I was almost feeling guilty at how not-a-sacrifice that felt. In fact, Easter came and went and I think it was several months before I even considered eating a piece of bacon or steak. I didn’t even miss it.

So this year, I decided to make up for it and go nuts (literally in some respects). I had been thinking for some time about how my sugar intake had creeped up over the years and I worry about it. That much sugar can’t be good for anyone. I plan to live a long and healthy life, I’m incredibly active and I should eat to support that. No doubt I’ve become addicted to the sweet stuff. So I’m giving it up for Lent. 40 days sugar free. I’d love to say that I’ve spent weeks researching and coming up with recipes but I’m busy, I’m tired, I haven’t. I’m going in on a wing and a prayer and just making it up as I go. It’s not going to be easy or comfortable and there will be times that I question my sanity and that’s where the blog comes in. I’m less likely to break my commitment if I’m accountable to something or someone. So read it, or don’t read it. This is for me.

It’s 8:46 am on Wednesday, February 18 and I’m officially sugar-free. Better get the Girl Scout Cookies out of my cabinet.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

