Day Two.

Well, I made it through the first day of no sugar. One of the most difficult things is deciding to what extent you’re going to quit sugar. What about carbs? What about fruit? What about ….?

So I spent a great deal of yesterday figuring all of that out. I am not giving up carbs. Of course, by way of giving up sugar, my carbs will be reduced but carbs are not my Lenten focus. Fruit. I’ve decided that, for these 40 days, I’m going to avoid fruits that are super high in sugar density (bananas, mangos, grapes) but I’m going to feel free to eat raspberries and grapefruit and oranges and the like. I’m going to read labels and avoid eating anything that has any of those “ose” words in it and bread is actually quite low in sugar so I’m not giving it up completely, though I may find that I want to chose my bread wisely. And milk/dairy. No way I’m letting that go. Bring on the lactose, Baby.

Thats the thing about “giving up” something like sugar. Everyone has to decide what the rules are for themselves because sugar is in everything. It’s not like giving up soft drinks or cigarettes or red meat, where everything seems black and white. I’m sure there are people that give up lactose, all fruit, all carbs and such but I’d rather not. Thanks.

Yesterday, I had a solidly sugar-free day. Egg omelettes for breakfast, a funky quinoa/tuna salad for lunch. I really struggled on the line at work. My dinner usually consists of eating a bite of this and a bite of that from a black plastic spoon during service but my choices were strictly limited. I had a few bites of blanched broccoli and a small chicken leg (that’s cooked in oil, salt and pepper only). Consequently I was starving at the end of the night. I got to the All-Star Movies resort where my husband was working and bought an over-priced bag of mixed nuts from the gift shop as my late-night snack. In the past, I would have gone for milk and Nutter Butters so I felt triumphant.

I was surprised at my willpower. I’ve been walking around for two days with boxes of Girl Scout cookies in my bag and I wasn’t tempted even once. Also, I had prepared myself for raging side effects of sugar withdrawal but that didn’t seem to happen, really. I felt very sleepy from about 2:00 on and at about 5:30, I developed a headache that was helped greatly by ibuprofen.

But I slept better than I have in a long time. And I slept for a long time. I don’t know if that was the lack of sugar or just the end of a very long week but I was thrilled. It’s been a while since I’ve gotten 8 1/2 hours of solid, uninterrupted sleep. And I had read that today, on day two, I’d have flu-like symptoms and feel like crap. But so far, I feel great! Maybe I wasn’t as addicted to sugar as I thought. Or maybe, the shoe just hasn’t dropped. Either way I’m just taking it one day, one meal at a time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

